PDA

View Full Version : Converting cassette tapes to digital

ronmac
11-19-2023, 04:57 PM
I have a number of shows I recorded back in the day that I would LOVE to convert to digital. I used to do it with a Harman Kardon digital recorder othat actually still works. But I'm looking to do this on my Macbook using a converter. I'm just beginning to research.

Anyone have experience with this? I'm not looking to spend a lot of money on the converter, but I do want lossless and good quality.

Koreabruce
11-19-2023, 05:16 PM
You'd just need some sort of digital interface such as the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 https://focusrite.com/products/scarlett-2i2 Use the line output from your cassette player and a stereo RCA cable with 1/4 plug adapters on the ends that plug into the interface. Pretty simple! (I've done this sort of thing A LOT.)

MudShark22
11-19-2023, 05:23 PM
I am going this route right now - picked up a nice cassette deck here on PE and getting my band SB cassettes into the DAW.

The above is a perfectly awesome way to go.

ronmac
11-19-2023, 06:03 PM
Let me be more clear. I am not looking to use this with my stereo, which is currently inaccessible. I'm looking for something like this:

https://www.clearclick.com/products/cassette2usb-cassette-tape-converter

I just know that there's a lot of junk out there.

Koreabruce
11-19-2023, 06:12 PM
That looks pretty simple - and that's as it should be since this is a straightforward process. It should output in WAV and mp3 formats. I've never used one of those, however, so I can't comment on the quality of that particular product. If I were doing this, I'd use an older version of Adobe Audition (1.5) to do all the editing and clean up the audio.

markwoll
11-19-2023, 06:26 PM
I tried the cassette player to audio interface ( in my case, a PerSonus Audio box 96 ) . Old tape players gave me fits with transport issues.
So I bought an Ion Tape2PC which works ok for saving old casettes.

rdclark
11-19-2023, 09:22 PM