PDA

View Full Version : The Assination of Jazz Rock

simon moon
11-20-2012, 02:33 PM
I rediscovered this article today and thought I'd post it. It is from about 10 years ago, but still remains relevant today.

Some interesting observations and criticisms.

It concerns prog as well as jazz rock.

http://www.furious.com/Perfect/jazzrockassassinated.html

trurl
11-20-2012, 05:18 PM
Pretty good! Makes sense to me...

"We went from Jerry Lee Lewis to Keith Emerson and Mike Ratledge in less than ten years; from "Louie Louie" to "King Kong" and "Sister Ray" in less time; from Chuck Berry to Jimi Hendrix and Jeff Beck in the same spread; from the Beatles to Can and Soft Machine in less than five years!" That's amazing- I'd never really thought about that in the context of musical development prior to that era.

elliottnow
11-20-2012, 05:24 PM
Thanks for the link. Very interesting read, especially now that I'm just getting into Larry Coryell and Tony Wiliams Lifetime. As one myself, I find the easiest people to turn onto jazz rock and prog are serious metal fans.

yogibear
11-20-2012, 08:31 PM
As one myself, I find the easiest people to turn onto jazz rock and prog are serious metal fans.yep but i began with metal/rock and then symph prog and got into jazz not from the metal aspect but more from the prog areas with canterbury and kraut rock leading the roads to travel.

bRETT
11-20-2012, 10:58 PM
; from the Beatles to Can and Soft Machine in less than five years!.

Of course, the Beatles overlapped with both Can and Soft Machine. And Chuck and Jerry Lee never went away.

mogrooves
11-20-2012, 11:00 PM
"The critical favorites were Weather Report (although I was always mystified by this)".

No parentheses required, imo.